Scott Pilgrim Vs The World

Scott Pilgrim vs The World

Well, I’m a sucker for a preview screening – especially when it’s free! And in honesty, that was the only reason I went to this, ok, and the fact that my friend and I are big Edgar Wright (and Simon Pegg/Spaced etc) fans. I knew the basic plot: a guy has to fight off the seven evil ex’s of his new girlfriend. I knew it starred Michael Cera – and that’s it. Hadn’t even seen a trailer, never read the comic. My expectations were medium.

So what did I think? Well, I genuinely can’t remember the last time I watched a film that totally blew me away. Maybe since ET, Star Wars, Pulp Fiction days. It wasn’t anything special about the plot or the acting, it was the sharpness of the script and directing. Edgar Wright went to town on this and executed something truly remarkable. The scenes were packed with originality, references, great cut-aways. It was just a lesson in great film-making. It made me want to tear-up my comedy scripts and start them again, having seen the bar set so high.

Seriously, go see this film. I’ve never bought a Blu-ray in my life but will be making an exception just for the commentary and to watch it again. Edgar Wright is a genius.

Oh and the screenplay of this that is floating around the internet is currently the pre-Edgar draft. It’s close, but no guitar!

Leave a Reply

