Focusing on the SWF

So there’s a month to go before the Screenwriters’ Festival in Cheltenham and I’ve adjusted my original targets to having three comedy scripts and a feature treatment (with first 10 pages) ready in time for it. Mainly because I have secured agent/producer speed-dating sessions so I need something ‘pullable’.

Also because having a full feature script ready got put-off due to the fact that I got stuck with part of the story. To date, I have two advanced drafts of comedy scripts, a very detailed outline for the other and an outline for the feature, so I should be able to pull it off (or them off, if we keep to the dating analogy – yeah let’s not).

I’m excited about the event for many reasons and not just because I’ll be travelling on a train (woo woo!). I know of a few people who blog, post on forums that it would be nice to actually meet in person but its also given me a deadline to get my longer projects finished (abandoned?) and shown to ‘real’ people. I really hope I come away from it with some decent contacts and direction.

Anyway, I watched Vicky Cristina Barcelona last night. A fantastic film in my eyes. I’ve decided to only talk about films I like as so many other bloggers cover bad ones (and do it better than me). Woody Allen found the perfect character balance in this one and having a fiery Spaniard (Penelope Cruz’s best performance IMO) must have been a dream for Allen to channel drama and comedy through. Everyone was likeable too, despite Cruz’s madness and Javier Bardem’s serial womanising. The story was good too, with plenty of unpredictable twists and quirks too. Anne Hall worshippers will probably hang me but I reckon this was Allen’s best work to date. For me anyway.

Leave a Reply

