Writing Song Meme

Chris Regan bullied me into doing this. Luckily a song came up fairly quickly.

Find a song that sums up what you think it means to be a writer and post the lyrics on your blog and why you’ve chosen it. NB: It doesn’t have to be your favourite song, it just has to express how you feel about writing and/or being a writer. It can be literal, metaphorical, about a particular form or aspect of writing – whatever you want. Then tag 5 others to do the same (reprint these instructions).

It’s one of my favourite songs by Turin Brakes, a band that hit the big time a few years back and boast an old-school friend of mine.

FISHING FOR A DREAM – Turin Brakes

Lets go fishing for a dream
Lets find some place new
Somewhere we can be ourselves
Some of the time

Lose your heart, I lose my mind
We’ll make quite a pair, dazzling all the time
Celebrity parties, the red carpet mile
Nothing is too good there for my girl
All of this world, is gonna see you shine

Lets do loneliness in style
Lets put on moonlight mile
And feel those radio waves flow
And don’t say you won’t

Lose your heart, I lose my mind
We’ll make quite a pair, dazzling all the time
Celebrity parties, the red carpet mile
Nothing is too good there for my girl
All of this world, is gonna see you shine

Hopefully its pretty self-explanatory. The ‘girl’ in this song is my writing, the love-affair I have with it, the frustration (lose my mind, loneliness in style), the hope (fishing for a dream, see you shine, red carpet mile), even a reference to my credits to date (radio waves). Will I get the ‘girl’ and at what cost?

I don’t know anyone in our little community that hasn’t done this, so if this post inspires you then comment here and let me claim some sort of kudos.

2 responses to “Writing Song Meme

  1. Good choice – and much more positive than mine!

  2. I’m relatively new to this so it could be Smack My Bitch Up soon.

Leave a Reply

